This postcard image is of Downie Place – which is what this part of Dumbarton Road was formerly known as – with the shops below our surgery clearly seen beside a road which had yet to be cobbled.
With records of there being a dental practice here in the 1880s, we can realistically lay claim to being one of the oldest if not the oldest continuously run dental practice in Glasgow.
The University of Glasgow issued the first Licence in Dental Surgery in 1879 which must surely mean that there can have been very few if any others around Glasgow before the 1880s.
We are celebrating other images of Partick within our Glasgow dental practices just now. The waiting room wall image showcases images from circa 1930 – including our surgery ‘close’ entrance – to the 1950s.
The shops and tenements within the larger central image were knocked down to accommodate access to the then new Clydeside Expressway- all in the name of progress. Bring back the clean cobblestoned streets of Glasgow!